Happy Birthday Dami

My nephew’s 6th birthday was last weekend so Mom and I went down to see him and all 4 of his siblings this weekend. When we asked him what kind of cake he wanted, he automatically responded that he wanted a skateboard cake just like his brother Dylan’s except that he wanted yellow cake with chocolate icing. I saw this as my opportunity to try new recipes that I had seen lately. Both the cake and icing were made from scratch and both recipes were REALLY easy to make with my mixer. I even had Alexis (big sister to Dami) over to help. The cake is a basic yellow cake recipe and the icing is a chocolate swiss meringue buttercream. It tasted great and everyone seemed to love it. I’ve also posted a picture of the newest nephew, Xander (I know this isn’t a great picture, but I had just finished rocking him to sleep and he doesn’t open his eyes often yet at 2 months old).

Leave a Reply

